.........  

Literacy
   
Commentary
    History
    Philosophy
    Liturgy
    KaraiteLibrary

Education
   
Anti-Missionary
Modern Commentary

Torah & Spirit
   
Family Life

Questions

KaraiteJudaica

Children

.

Home

Food Additives You Won't Find on the List


One of the most difficult aspects of determining the kosher status of a processed food is knowing which additives, that may appear to be kosher - may, in fact, because they are processed before they are added to the food - are kosher. Any prepared ingredient does not have to list its constituents on a label (e.g., when a canned food lists tomato sauce as one of its ingredients it does not have to list the ingredients of the tomato sauce). Additionally, there are certain foods and ingredients whose formulæ are, through a loophole in the law, concidered industry standards and do not have to be listed. Such items include (but are not limited to) ice cream, mayonnaise, vanilla extract, almond extract, beer, liquor and wine (it is actually against the law to list all the ingredients in liquor and wine!), soft drinks, etc.