.........  

Literacy
   
Commentary
    History
    Philosophy
    Liturgy
    KaraiteLibrary

Education
   
Anti-Missionary
Modern Commentary

Torah & Spirit
   
Family Life

Questions

KaraiteJudaica

Children

.

Home

Kosher Sucrose


Rapadura is a kosher sucrose. It is produced by Rapunzel Organics. They may be found on the web at: http://www.rapunzel.com. The sucrose produced by Rapunzel is truly vegan. They use stainless steel filters for their sugar, rather than charred animal bones. Also, since they don't bleach their sugar, there is no animal blood that is used in their refining process as well. What follows is a letter I received from Ekhart Kiesel, a Rapunzel representative: Thanks for your inquiry.  The processors of our Rapadura sugar don't use any animal products in the process of making it - No animal bone filter (diatomataceous earth - [earth that contains a large amount of silica which is present due to silicated algae]) - No animal grease for defoaming  (safflower-oil) - No blood Evey once in a blue moon they add a little (a pinch) of ground limestone to the sugarcane juice to clear it, before boiling.